GENERAL MILLS RECALLS 1.8M CHEERIOS BOXES FOR ALLERGENS
Cited “potential adverse health effects” for people with wheat allergies or celiac disease.
by JACOB PRAMUK | CNBC | OCTOBER 6, 2015
General Mills on Monday issued a recall of some Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal because some that were labeled as gluten-free contained wheat.
The recall affects an estimated 150,000 cases, or 1.8 million boxes, made in July at its Lodi, California, facility. General Mills cited “potential adverse health effects” for people with wheat allergies or celiac disease.
The company said it would take affected boxes from warehouse and store shelves. General Mills noted that wheat flour was “inadvertently introduced” to the gluten-free oat flour system in an “isolated incident.”
The recall includes four days of production of original Cheerios and 13 days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios made in July. Cheerios tweeted how consumers can identify if a box they bought was affected.